nintendo gamecube console purple

I missed out on these games and it sucks

Hundreds of video games are released on a monthly basis – though this number is probably higher due to the ill-conceived Steam Greenlight programme and its influx of subpar titles. And due to immortality (currently) being out of reach for us humans, we’ll never be able to play each and every one of these games. On the other side of the coin, there is a range of games that, for whatever reasons, we can no longer play, either.

These are my gaming regrets.

A little history

Though I may already have reached the halfway point in my life – I’m currently 31-years-old – I’ve been fortunate enough to play and complete a range of titles. From the life-altering Resident Evil 2 to the tear-jerker that is Final Fantasy VII and even the once classic titles from Konami (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III: The Manhattan Project). I’ll never be able to tell you how many games I’ve both played and completed, but it’s at least over 1000 by now and spans multiple systems.

However, there are a few titles that I completely missed out on. These were either due to stock issues, not owning the systems they were released on, or my own ignorance. Like many gamers, I went through platform phases. I started off as a PC gamer, then migrated to console, back to PC, and now I don’t really care which platform a game is on.

After all, don’t we all make mistakes?

Without further ado, these are just some of the titles I wish that I could at least give a go.

Disclaimer: I’m not going to emulate them and my PC is too rubbish to game on.

legacy of kain defiance box art

Most of the later Soul Reaver entries

Both the original Blood Omen: Legacy of Kain and Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver are personal favourites of mine. They were titles that held fantastical storylines and voice acting not often seen outside of the RPG genre. And who could forget the phenomenal voice acting delivery from Simon Templeman?

And even though I managed to complete both of those titles numerous times, I completely missed out on Soul Reaver 2, Blood Omen 2, and Legacy of Kain: Defiance. I’m still not sure why as I had a PlayStation 2, which was the choice platform for the franchise.

I know that all of them are currently available on GOG, but my PC is beyond terrible. Hell, it’s a good day if Windows even loads. For now, those games are lost to me.

Side note: I don’t consider Nosgoth to be part of the series.

skies of arcadia box art cropped

Skies of Arcadia Legends

Regardless of the sales numbers, the Nintendo GameCube was an utterly fantastic console. It had four built-in controller ports, an excellent library of titles, and the ability to play GameBoy Advance games through an adapter. I mean, how cool was this weird piece of kit that actually included a carry handle? And how stupid was I to eventually sell it off?

Between 2004-2006, the (then) South African distributor of Nintendo products was dumping its GameCube stock. I think it was Futronic? Anyway, they were also getting rid of games, which meant I picked up quite a few from Take2 (now Takealot). One game I ordered but never received was the RPG, Skies of Arcadia: Legends. I saw people all over the official Take2 forums raving about it, but I pulled the trigger a little too late.

The game was a ‘director’s cut’ of the original Sega Dreamcast title, Skies of Arcadia. Those are the only two platforms that you can play the game on. Unless Sega decides to bring the title to the newer generation of console, I’ve completely missed out.

shenmue 2 box art

Shenmue II

A cult-classic and a title that is raved about by people who’ve played it. I’m not one of the people who had the chance to pick up a copy, of course.

The action-adventure RPG was released on the Dreamcast and Microsoft’s first Xbox console. Even though I owned the latter – as a US import – I sold it off because importing games from overseas was a tad on the expensive side for a recent high school matriculant.

I have no story behind this one, but I hope that Sega will re-release it at some point.

lunar 2 box art

Lunar 2: Eternal Blue

The Lunar series started off on the Sega CD back in 1992. Since then, it has been ported and remastered to many consoles and can be picked up on PSN as Lunar: Silver Star Harmony. It’s sequel, Lunar: Eternal Blue, however, has never left the Sega CD.

Okay, that’s a blatant lie (and I’m probably just padding this piece). It was re-released on the original PlayStation as Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Complete, but that’s where it has stayed. The game was eventually re-released on the Japanese PSN store, but in the West? Nothing.

So unless I can dig up a Sega CD (oh god no) or a functioning PS1, that’s about it.

Are there any games that you missed out on and can’t get today? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

