new purchase mad max video game

New purchases: adding to my backlog (9 July)

As much as I’ve tried to kerb my video game spending, the recent influx of gaming sales hasn’t helped one bit. In fact, I’ve added a few more titles to my backlog that I hadn’t really intended to, but these purchases tie into two previous articles.

This is, of course, apart from the books I’ve recently purchased as well.

Video games

Some current generation titles

A few weeks ago I wrote about my stance on digital vs. physical games. What it boiled down to was that digital may be safer in South Africa. Due to the high crime rate, having to replace an entire game collection from several generations ago is a daunting and financially risky task.

That partially lead to me picking up both Mad Max and Ratchet & Clank (2016) on PS4, and Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor GOTY for the Xbox One. And while this means that I’ll always own them – as long as Sony and Microsoft don’t go bankrupt, of course – I also have to download them. This has been a tedious undertaking due to my 2Mbps ADSL line and the fact that PSN loves bombing out on downloads.

On the plus side, the purchase of these three games only cost me R310 overall, which I don’t think is a bad price.

Doom 3 BFG Edition (Xbox 360)

I’ve wanted this title for quite a while and spoke about in my “Not purchasing new video games is difficult” piece. For anyone not aware, Doom 3 was initially launched back in 2004 and made it to PC, Mac OS, Linux, and even the Xbox. Even though the console release was slightly watered down, it still did relatively well. It was also the first (or one of) PC game to drop support for Windows 98, which caused quite a stir at the time. No one likes advancements in technology, right?

In 2012, publisher Bethesda Softworks re-release the game on PC, PS3, and Xbox 360 as Doom 3: BFG Edition. This re-release featured improved graphics, gameplay tweaks, and included the expansion Resurrection of Evil, a new scenario, as well as bundling Ultimate Doom and Doom II. Reviews for it aren’t amazing, but fuck it, I still wanted the game. Unfortunately, I somehow glossed over its initial release and found it difficult to come across second-hand at a reasonable price.

Thankfully, a good friend of mine donated his copy to me because he no longer plays it. Even though the BFG Edition may not include the co-op mode from the original Xbox release, it’s still a damn fine compilation.

Assassin’s Creed (Xbox 360)

I’ve given the series shit in the past, but that is because I think it became stale and a bit of a mess. Don’t get me wrong – I adore quite a few of the entries, which includes the second and fourth games.

In saying that, the first game in the Assassin’s Creed franchise is easily one of the best. Upon seeing it in a recent Xbox games sale, I had to snag it up (it was cheaper than a McDonald’s meal!). I never got around to finishing it upon release and decided it may just be time to rectify that.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age (PS4)

And, finally, in the video games department, there’s Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age. I don’t have it in my possession yet but have pre-ordered it from BT Games. I don’t normally purchase brand new titles from them, but it was the only game store in SA to stock the steelbook edition. (yes, Loot did have it up for pre-order for a few days, but I’m still unsure if that was a mistake or not).

Books

What would a purchasing update be without books?

The answer is “pretty sad”.

As some readers may already know (especially if you follow me on Instagram), I’m in the process of reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. Being a big fan of the first BioShock video game, I wanted to read the inspiration behind it. It wasn’t an easy novel to track down, but it was the first I’ve purchased from Exclusive Books in at least two to three years.

Following on is another classic: Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell. I picked up the ebook version a few years ago for cheap (R7!), but am not really a fan of digital books. Because of all of the crap going on in the world right now, I had to read the inspiration for the 2010s!

And then there is one of my favourite authors: Stephen King. During a random lunch break at work, I ventured to a local Bargain Books store to peruse its sales section. What was sitting on the shelf? End of Watch and Finders Keepers. Now I need to track down Mr Mercedes so that I can actually start the Bill Hodges trilogy.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be eating my own nails for the rest of the month instead of buying groceries.

Leave a Reply

