gaming backlog 20 june

An update on my gaming backlog (20 June)

Another weekend has come and gone and, thankfully, I’ve managed to get in some decent gaming time. Friday was a public holiday in South Africa, but since I took off the Thursday, I was afforded a four-day weekend. This also lead to me digging into a few games that I’ve been meaning to.

Firstly, no, I didn’t get around to playing Silent Hill (or F.E.A.R.), but those are still on the cards.

Horizon Zero Dawn

I finally started Horizon Zero Dawn, which a friend lent to me ages ago (he has my copy of Yakuza 0). While a full review will come once I finish the game, what I can say it’s that is absolutely stunning. Its breathtaking visuals are what current generation gaming should be and shows just how much power the base PlayStation 4 still has left in it. Almost all of the facial features are just astounding with special attention being focused on character eyes.

The gameplay has also been enjoyable, though it feels a lot like an open-world Tomb Raider (reboot series) title. Of course, that’s not a bad thing, but it does make me want to play the latter game instead.

I’ve also found it to be a mentally taxing game. With most titles, I’m able to watch a TV show or movie while playing, but not with Horizon Zero Dawn. Much like reading, it takes me a bit of time to get into it when first loading the game up, and the slightest disturbance can take me out of the experience as well.

Since I enjoy tackling sidequests in open world games more than the main storyline, my progress has been slow. I should be able to play more of this next weekend.

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax, Doom II, and Battletoads Arcade

A friend popped over on Saturday evening for a gaming session, which we usually go once every two months or so. This gave me a chance to finally try out Persona 4 Arena Ultimax. It’s a fighting title set within the Persona 3 and Persona 4 universes.

It features a surprisingly easy control and battle scheme, which lead to us having many down-to-the-wire moments. Much shouting and swearing ensued, which lead to a great time with the game.

It’s a game I’ll pick up again one day to play through the full storyline. But first, I need to actually complete Persona 3 FES and Persona 4.

That evening we also tried out Doom II‘s co-op mode and ploughed through the Battletoads Arcade game (which is included on the Xbox One‘s Rare Retro Reply collection).

Doom II was a fun endeavour, and I realised I’d never actually played the game before. I mean, I ‘ve played through Doom, Doom Ultimate Edition, Doom 3, and Doom (2016), but somehow this one escaped me. The controls were easy enough, but it was definitely tougher than the original Doom, especially during co-op with friendly fire on.

Battletoads, though feeling a bit easier than the original, was still a bastard of a game. Thank goodness the re-released version includes an unlimited amount of lives. It kicks our asses plenty of times but still ended in many laughs.

And that’s it for the latest update. I don’t think I’ll be playing any video games this week as I want to finally finish 2061: Odyssey Three by Arthur C. Clarke – I’m a slow reader.

4 thoughts on “An update on my gaming backlog (20 June)”

  1. Doom II co-op is the biz. I remember playing that with my best mate back in the 90s over a serial cable connection between our 386es… good times!

    On the backlog side, last week I finished Soulbringer. Yes, THAT Soulbringer, from the year 2000. Quite enjoyed it, too; going back to old timey graphics and clunky controls was pretty neat, while I could take or leave the cheesy story. I think it had been in development for years before release, as the quasi-3D graphics were super-uber-power shit. Not even 3D-accelerated. Sies.

    Then I started on Two Worlds II again. I’m on chapter III of IV (I think), and FINALLY past where I was when I played the game back in 2012-ish. The “RPG” systems are a bit shit and I still have no idea how to be an effective mage, so I’ve instead beefed up my ranged abilities and am currently pwning mobs with my bow and multi-arrow setup. Good times.

    I’m enjoying digging into some older games in this age of photo-realistic graphics and streamlined-to-death gameplay mechanics.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m thinking that Doom 1 and 2 co-op are going to be my go-to party games (need to pick up more controllers) and not just Super Puzzle Fighter Turbo. 🙂

    Two Worlds II is a title I’ve been eyeing for a long time, but waiting to find it on console. Didn’t the PC version recently get microtransactions?

    I’m also playing Dragon Quest II on my phone, which is a really nice change from having to learn complex combos and whatnot.

    Like

  3. I’ve heard, read and only seen great things about Horizon Zero Dawn and can’t wait to jump into it myself. Alas time is a problem and it’s a game that’s unfortunately on my back log list now😢

    Battletoads however sounds like an epic idea!! I’d love to play that again!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It may just be time to invest in an Xbox One and get the Rare Retro Collection 😉 Otherwise, there’s always emulation or trying to track down the original cartridges.

    Horizon Zero Dawn seems like it’s going to take a lot of time. One of my colleagues only stopped playing it after 120 hours. And then there’s still the forthcoming expansion as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

