original xbox logo

Microsoft is adding more games to my backlog

While I think this year’s E3 conference was average, one thing really stood out for me. After much speculation, Microsoft finally announced that original Xbox (OG Xbox) games were coming to Xbox One via backwards compatibility. This is fantastic news and one that will increase the size of my backlog.

I did own an OG Xbox, many, many years ago. It was a US import that came with some sports title and Unreal 2. I eventually sold it off as I couldn’t find any games for it locally (importing was a bit expensive) and I didn’t want to go the piracy route, either. It was a shame as I always wanted to play Fable on Xbox (that happened years later with Fable: The Lost Chapters on PC).

The OG Xbox titles I’d love to try

There is a range of games I want to play on the OG Xbox, even though its library was limited to around 799 titles – many of these were sports-related, which I’ll gladly skip.

Sure, some of these aren’t exclusive, I cannot rely on Sony to enable PlayStation 2 backwards compatibility on the PlayStation 4. I mean, can anyone, really?

The OG Xbox games I want to play are:

  • Aliens Versus Predator: Extinction – this probably won’t happen due to licencing.
  • Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance 1 and 2 – I finished the original co-op on the PlayStation 2 and it was fantastic.
  • Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth – a game I enjoyed playing on PC, but I’m not into PC games anymore.
  • Dino Crisis 3 – because I’m a sucker for punishment.
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind – what self-respecting RPG fan doesn’t want to play this?
  • Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel – because¬†Fallout.
  • MechAssault 1 and 2 – giant robots, need I say more?
  • Shenmue II – may as well see what all of the hype is about.
  • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2 – I struggled to play this on PC, but I may have matured enough to give them another go.
  • Sudeki – one of the closest things to a JRPG on the system, besides the Shin Megami Tensei title.
  • Unreal Championship 1 and 2 – I’m a sucker for Unreal games.
  • X-Men Legends 1 and 2 – this probably won’t happen due to licencing.

Those are most of the titles I’d love to play, and, of course, I hope all of them are included in the OG Xbox BC programme. Microsoft has said the original controller for the console – the Duke – will be release as well, which is pretty exciting.

Since I still have the original discs for Halo 1 and 2 somewhere, I wonder if those will work with the system?

2 thoughts on “Microsoft is adding more games to my backlog”

Leave a Reply

