silent hill wallpaper

To Silent Hill or not to Silent Hill

Now that my break from gaming is over, it’s time to jump into a new game. I have a few ideas of what I want to play next, but two of those are a little of the controversial side, and not in a good way.

I’ve been a big fan of Silent Hill since the original release on the PlayStation 1, even if Konami no longer cares about the series. Like many, my favourite entry in the series is Silent Hill 2. To me, it’s not only one of the best video games ever made, but one of the best examples of horror on any medium. It near perfectly blends visuals, sounds, and a gripping story to portray a world gone wrong. Silent Hill 2 is, in a word, amazing.

Silent Hill vs. Silent Hill

Sitting on my shelf is Silent Hill Homecoming and Silent Hill Downpour, both on the PlayStation 3. While I played a bit of Homecoming on PC years ago, which crashed and erased corrupted my save file, I’ve never touched Downpour. I think it may just be the right time to play one of these titles. They’re a bit action-orientated with elements of horror and no RPG attributes, which is what I need right now.

The question is, should I actually play either of these games? While I want to play through all of the Silent Hill titles, these two, in particular, don’t come with rich praise. In fact, Homecoming has a 72/100 on Metacritic, while Downpour holds a 64/100, both on PS3. Then again, I probably shouldn’t be putting much stock into review scores anyway.

Which one of these should I play and finish next: Silent Hill Homecoming or Silent Hill Downpour?

Then again, I could finally finish F.E.A.R.

2 thoughts on “To Silent Hill or not to Silent Hill”

  1. I have to say I’m not a fan of horror titles at all. In fact I try to actively avoid them when it’s possible. However this wasn’t always the case and in high school I played them regularly including Silent Hill on the PlayStation. Needless to say that game resonates with me to this day, and not necessarily in a bad way. The game itself in terms of mechanics at the time I thought was incredible, the puzzles I thought were nightmarish in the best ways…especially the Piano… and the story still leaves me in awe when i think back to that time. Unfortunately I can’t really recommend either of your options cause I’m not sure myself but if I had a choice to go back to Silent Hill or play F.E.A.R then I’d choose Silent Hill. Keep in mind I have played FEAR as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

